Forums Development Pivot Points

Viewing 23 posts - 1 through 23 (of 23 total)
  • Author
    CSendo
    Participant

Hello all!

In this thread I want to talk about a topic that can seem basic to some, but has (in my view) a lot of potential for various reasons. I am no expert on pivots, but have found them increasingly interesting as I’ve wandered the forex desert, and therefore I’m excited to see what you all have to say about it. Express your love or hate for them, as we are all penguins and truth seekers here and I hope for a good takeway point (or points) by the end of this thread. Lets get started!

First, I believe there are two types of pivots: single and doubled(I tend to make up my own names for things..). Lets take the standard (H+L+C)/3 formula for some random set of HLC values. If you take that value and use that as your pivot, I call that a single pivot. If you take something like the average range of the past 20 days, divide that by 2(we’ll call this PP), and use Open+PP and Open-PP as your values, I call this a double pivot.

Some general ideas and things we may care about concerning pivots:

1. How accurate is a pivot level?

2. How accurate can we track one level to the next?

3. What role does initial starting position have on a pivot?

4. Is there any significance in consecutive hits on a pivot (consider multiple “top level” pivots being hit in a day)

5. In the case of double pivots, what is the trade off/expectation/interaction of price hitting 1, 2 or 3 pivots?

6. Most importantly, is there some measure (even if semi-subjective) of which pivots are better than others?